Mozart String Quartets - Solinger Streichquartett

Solinger Streichquartett
on peroid instruments
Heiko Schmitz, violin
Almuth Wiesemann, violin
Gunhild Mentges, viola
Peter Lamprecht, violoncello

Recorded in St. Georg church
Neu-Elfgen, Grevenbroich

Wolfgang Amdeus Mozart
Quartetto d-moll KV 421

[1] Allegro moderato (10:32)
[2] Andante (5:57)
[3] Menuetto, Allegretto (3:36)
[4] Allegro ma non troppo (8:54)

Quartetto C-dur KV 465

[5] Adagio - Allegro (13:43)
[6] Andante cantabile (6:27)
[7] Menuetto, Allegro (4:42)
[8] Allegro molto (10:58)

In the six quartets dedicated to Joseph Haydn - the D minor quartet K 421 is the second, the C major quartet K 465 the last of these - Mozart employed a completely new mode of quartet writing. The dedicating to Haydn was no coincidence: it was the encounter with Haydn’s string quartets which inspired Mozart to write these pieces. he made every conceivable effort in their composition. We know of no other scores by Mozart in which he rejected, reworked and improved passages to such an extent as he did here. Consequently, in his dedication of the works to Haydn, he recorded that these quartets were »the fruits of long and laborious toil«. Haydn in fact was the only contemporary whom Mozart regarded as his equal, and Haydn’s appreciation was of vital importance to him. He also was very keen to present the works to Haydn. Only one day after finishing the C major quartet and entering it in his personal catalogue, he had the complete series of six quartets performed before Haydn and a few friends. One month later, on the 12th of February 1785, three of the works, amongst them again the C major quartet, were once more played in Mozart’s appartment. In addition to Haydn, Mozart’s father was present on this occasion. It is quite probable that he played the first violin. Haydn was deeply impressed by the music. Leopold, in his famous letter to Nannerl, quotes him as follows:
»I tell you before God, as an honest man, your son is the greatest composer whom I know by person or by name; he has taste and what is more, the most comprehensive knowledge of musical composition«.
Even as a small child Mozart loved the pure major third more than any other interval and preferred major keys throughout his life. Of this twenty-six string quartets only two are in minor keys. In both cases his choice was D minor - beloved by string players, since it permits the full use of open strings. He was traditionalist in these matters and any desire for instrumental experimentation such as we know from Haydn’s quartets was completely foreign to him.
Constanze recounted that the D minor quartet K 421 was written during the delivery of her first child and that the cries she uttered had left their mark on the piece. The first part of the above statement is quite credible, for Mozart, when he was in the process of composing, did not let himself be put off even by the noise of a billiard room. One does not have to belive the second assertion though. One’s understanding of the quartet, at any rate, is not in any way furthered by searching for passages fitting this scene.
The C major quartet K 465 was later given the misleading nickname »Dissonance«; one that it has never been able to throw off. This name drives from a cross relation and a double suspension right at the beginning of the slow introduction of the piece. However, these are trifles when compared with the audacities Haydn invented to season his quartets. Mozart on his part was more intent on euphony and impeccable part writing. the C major quartet could serve as a model for these merits rather than for daring dissonances.
18th century string quartets were not written to be performed publicly in concert halls. They were meant to give pleasure to those who played them and to a few friends gathered in a music room. There is no hope that string quartet playing will ever again be the favourite leisure time occupation of the music lover, as it was in Mozart’s time. Instruments and music stands have vanished from modern living rooms and been replaced by stereo sets and CD players. They at least enable music lovers of our time, to enjoy Mozart’s quartet in the intimate atmosphere for which they were conceived.
Peter Lamprecht

CD Shop

CD 02423
12.00 €Price:

Available records

news | Links | GTC | Contact | Imprint
© 2018 castigo.de

Home CASTIGO CLASSIC RECORDINGS

Mozart Quartette - Solinger Streichquartett

Solinger Streichquartett
auf Originalinstrumenten
Heiko Schmitz, Violine
Almuth Wiesemann, Violine
Gunhild Mentges, Viola
Peter Lamprecht, Violoncello




Aufgenommen in der St. Georg Kirche
Neu-Elfgen, Grevenbroich


Wolfgang Amdeus Mozart
Quartetto d-moll KV 421

[1] Allegro moderato (10:32)
[2] Andante (5:57)
[3] Menuetto, Allegretto (3:36)
[4] Allegro ma non troppo (8:54)

Quartetto C-dur KV 465

[5] Adagio - Allegro (13:43)
[6] Andante cantabile (6:27)
[7] Menuetto, Allegro (4:42)
[8] Allegro molto (10:58)

In den sechs Streichquartetten, die Joseph Haydn gewidmet sind, - das d-moll Quartett KV 421 ist das zweite, das C-dur Quartett KV 465 das sechste und letzte von ihnen - hat Mozart zu einer völlig neuen Quartettsprache gefunden.
Die Widmung an Haydn ist kein ufall: Die Begegnung mit seinen Streichquartetten war es, die Mozart zu diesen Stücken anspornte. Bei der Komposition gab er sich alle erdenkliche Mühe. Wir kennen keine anderen Partituren von ihm, an denen er während und nach der Niederschrift soviel verwarf, bearbeitete und verbesserte. In der Widmung an Haydn vermerkt er denn auch, diese Quartette seien »il frutto di una lunga e laboriosa fatica«. Haydn war eben der einzige Zeitgenosse, den Mozart als ebenbürtig gelten ließ, und auf dessen Anerkennung er nicht verzichten konnte. Auch konnte er es offenbar kaum erwarten, Haydn die Werke zu präsentieren: Bereits einen Tag, nachdem er das C-dur Quartett vollendet und in sein eigenhändiges Werkverzeichnis eingetragen hatte, führte er ihm die nunmehr komplette Reihe der sechs Quartette im Beisein einiger Freunde vor. Einen Monat später, am 12. Februar 1785 wurden drei der Werke - unter ihnen wieder das C-dur Quartett - in Mozerts Wohnung wiederholt. Außer Haydn war auch Vater Mozart zu gegen; es ist wahrscheinlich, daß er die erste Geige spielte. Haydn war von den Stücken tief beeindruckt. leopold zitiert ihn in seinem berühmten Brief an Nannerl mit den Worten:
»Ich sage Ihnen vor gott, als ein ehrlicher Mann, Ihr Sohn ist der größte Componist, den ich von Person und dem Nahmen nach kenne: er hat Geschmack, und über das die größte Compositionswissenschaft«.
Constanze berichtete, daß das d-moll Quartett KV 421 während ihrer ersten Niederkunft entstanden sei und die Schreie, die sie dabei ausstieß, in das Stück eingeflossen seien. Ersteres ist durchaus glaubhaft, denn Mozart ließ sich, wenn er am Komponieren war, auch durch den Lärm eines Billiardsaals nicht stören. Das zweite mag man glauben oder nicht. Das Verständnis des Stückes jedenfalls läßt sich durch die Suche nach zu dieser Szene passenden Stellen nicht vertiefen.
Mozart liebte schon als kleines Kind die Durterz vor allen anderen Intervallen und bevorzugte Durtonarten zeit seines Lebens. Von seinen sechsundzwanzig Streichquartetten stehen nur zwei in Moll. In beiden Fällen wählte er das streicherfreundliche d-moll, das den ausgiebigen Gebrauch der leeren Saiten erlaubte. Er war in diesen Dingen Traditionalist. Instrumentale Experimentierlust, wie wir sie aus Haydns Quartetten kennen, war ihm völlig fremd.
Das C-dur Quartett KV 465 hat in späterer Zeit den unglücklichen Namen »Dissonanzen-Quartett« erhalten, der nun an ihm haftet. Er zielt auf einen Querstand und einen doppelten Vorhalt gleich zu beginn der langsamen Einleitung, beides Bagatellen im Vergleich zu den Kühnheiten, mit denen Haydn seine Streichquartette zu würzen liebte. Mozart suchte dagegen Wohlklang und führte die Stimmen abolut sauber. Hierfür könnte dieses Quartett weit eher zum Muster dienen als für gewagte Dissonanzen.
Die Streichquartette des ausghenden 18. Jahrhunderts sind nicht für den Konzertsaal geschrieben. Sie dienten der Erbauung derer, die sie spielten, und der wenigen Zuhörer, die in einem Musikzimmer Platz fanden. Wir können kaum hoffen, daß das Quartettspiel je wieder zur bevorzugten Freizeitbeschäftigung des Musikfreunds werden wird, wie das zu Mozarts Zeit der Fall war. In den Wohnzimmern unserer Tage findet man an Stelle von Instrumenten und Notenschrank eine Steroanlage. die ermögliht uns immerhin, mozarts Quartette wieder in dem intimen Rahmen zu genießen, der ihnen vom Komponisten zugedacht war.
Peter Lamprecht

CD Shop

CD 02423
12.00 €Preis:

Erhältliche CDs

Aktuelles | Links | AGB | Kontakt | Impressum
© 2017 castigo.de